Industrial Designer looking for help designing a watch

Hi there

I’m an industrial designer working in London.

I have a design for a watch body that I’d like to build but wondered if anyone would be open to sharing some of their knowledge on how to ‘install and set’ a movement ?- I am new to this sphere.

Would be great to hear first hand from people who have built watches themselves - let me know if you’d let me pick your brains and hear how you approached it.

I’m currently thinking to CNC machine a body from stainless and use a MIYOTA body (with a basic calendar)

Give me a shout and let’s chat!

Hands on experience would be the best way to proceed. Get a kit here or somewhere and try it yourself. It really isn’t that complicated once you have tried it. The DWC kit comes with very detailed instructions so that is quite possibly useful to you.

I’m in the process of designing and CNCing a custom bezel, so I hear where you’re coming from.

I would strongly recommend you buy a watch or a set first. Miyota is a good choice, however if you’re looking to combine with pieces, Seiko has, literally about 100 times more selection. Specifically, the “SKX007” form factor. (DWC uses the Seiko “sea urchin” form factor, which is slightly larger. I believe that makes assembly easier for us, but swapping parts outside of DWC is more challenging.)

When it comes to custom designing a case, that’s probably the hardest part, and you’ll need the following dimensions;
Diameter & depth of the interior of the case. All of the Seiko “NH” model movements have the same dimensions. (I believe Miyota 8- and 9- series have consistent dimensions as well.)

You will need a stem tube, usually at the 3 o’clock position. Some move that to the 4 o’clock position (really, closer to 4.1 on Seiko). if you are doing a calendar this must be aligned correctly or the date window won’t line up. If you forego the calendar, you can put the stem at whatever clock position you like.