My 8N24 Movement has a problem and I cannot diagnose it!

Hello there!

I’m very new to all this so apologies if any of my terminology is off or I’m straight up being a bit of an idiot.

I started assembling my Mosel today - I’ve been so excited about it but nervous to start (my family and friends all banded together to get it for my 30th!), and I’ve followed the instructions to a tee. I got to putting the hands on and gave it a wind, and it makes a loud whirring noise and not all the parts seem to be moving inside. I compared it with the video of just the movement doing it’s thing, and it seems some of the small parts inside mine aren’t moving at all? I pressed on, attached the hour hand and when wound it spins at the rate of a second hand for a little while before everything stops. The escape wheel spins, but the pallet isn’t moving atall.

Afraid I don’t know how to attach a video or anything so I’m probably not articulating this very well, but I think there’s a problem inside the movement itself and I don’t really know what to do.

Not the easiest thing to help with I’m sure but…any advice?

Sorry if it’s already been asked anywhere - I tried searching but no dice! Been terrified to ask in case I’ve somehow messed it up for good. Please help!

Paddy

1 Like

The loud whirring noise seems suspicious. I would check for the source of the noise to figure out the problem. Try winding it again and see if anything in the movement, like the rotor spinning or something, is making the noise

1 Like

I think I know what’s happening based on your description. And if I’m right, it should be an easy fix.

So basically there’s a clutch that prevents the movement from unwinding itself. Sometimes it’s just not engaged. And when you wind, the movement immediately starts unwinding, and the automatic rotor would spin crazy fast, creating a whirring noise. So I second @NickPat and check if the rotor is spinning fast when you wind.